CEO and Management Team


Kari Tuomala, born 1962
Master of Science in Technology

Kari Tuomala is a founding member in the Company and has been the CEO and a Member of the Board since 2009.

During the period 2000-2008 Tuomala was the Managing Director of Nokian Capacitors Oy.

During the period 1999-2000 Tuomala was responsible for international customer support and acted in management team as the General Manager for Customer Support at Wärtsilä NSD Netherlands.

1997-1999 Tuomala was Regional Manager Customer Support Operations (CSO) of Wärtsilä NSD China, responsible for customer service for Wärtsilä’s international power plant business in the Asia Pacific region and was based in Hong Kong.

1994-1997 Tuomala was Area Manager Customer Operations (CSO) of Wärtsilä Finland Oy – Power Plants and in that capacity 10/1994-3/1995 at Wärtsilä Singapore office.

Additionally Tuomala was IT Systems Manager of Wärtsilä Vaasa and in the Management team of Wärtsilä Factory-Vaasa diesel manufacturing unit during 1989-1994.

Shareholding: 1 497 144

Management Team

Rainer Antila, born 1967
Master of Business Administration

Rainer Antila has been the company’s CFO since 2017.

From 2012 to 2017, Antila was CFO of Talousruutu Oy.

From 2008 to 2012, Antila was CFO of Confidex Oy and from 2000 to 2008 he was CFO and held other positions at Nokian Capacitors Oy.

In addition, Antila was Controller at Vaasa Engineering Oy from 1994 to 2000.

Shareholding: 59 139

Jyri Öörni, born 1980
Master of Science
Development Director

Jyri Öörni is a founding partner of the company and has held various management positions in the company since 2009.

Öörni has been the company’s Chief Development Officer since 2015.

From 2009 to 2015, Öörni was the company’s Development Manager.

Öörni was a member of the Board of Directors from 2014 to 2018.

Öörni also worked as a project engineer at Nokia Capacitors Oy from 2005 to 2008.

Shareholding: 329 360

Markus Ovaskainen, born 1991
Master of Science
Sales Director

Markus Ovaskainen has been with Merus Power since 2017.

In 2017-2019 Ovaskainen has worked on product development tasks related to electrical storage control systems and system design.

As Sales Manager, Ovaskainen worked in the Latin American and North American markets from 2020 to 2022 and has also worked in product management.

Shareholding: 200

Maiju Levirinne, born 1989
Bachelor of Business Administration
Director, Factory Supply Processes

Maiju Levirinne has been the company’s Director, Supply Processes since 2022.

Levirinne previously served as the company’s Director of Procurement and Logistics from 2019 to 2022 and in other procurement and logistics positions from 2011 to 2019.

Levirinne was a procurement and logistics intern at Agnico Eagle Mines Limited in 2010.

Shareholding: 1 977

Mikko Marttala, born 1979
MSc Infrastructure Investment and Finance, University College London
Finance and Project Development Director

Marttala is responsible for Merus Power’s customer financing and project development business. Marttala joined Merus in spring 2022.

Prior to joining Merus Power, Marttala worked for 10 years at the Finnish technology company KPA Unicon as CFO and Executive Vice President, during which time he developed the company’s client financing and service sales models. Marttala was a full-time member of KPA Unicon’s Management Team.

Prior to KPA Unicon, Marttala was a Client Manager at Nordea, where he was responsible for export and project finance for the bank’s Nordic clients.

Marttala is not independent of the Company, as he is employed by the Company. Marttala is independent of the Company’s significant shareholders.

Shareholding: 5 100

Juuso Järvinen, born 1976
Master of Science
Director, Delivery Process and PMO

Järvinen joined Merus in the spring of 2022 and serves as Project Department Manager.

Earlier in his career, he held project management positions at Teleste Information Solution (2019-2020), RUAG Space Finland (2016-2019), and Patria Systems (2008-2016), and as a development engineer in UPM’s RFID organization (2001-2008).

Shareholding: 1 000

Toni Peltomaa, born 1979
Bachelor of Engineering
Aftermarket and Service Director

Toni Peltomaa is the company’s After Sales and Service Director since 04/2023.

In 2020 – 2021 Peltomaa worked as Sales Manager at Arnon Oy, in 2018 – 2020 as Sales Manager at VEO Oy and in 2013 – 2018 at Grid Solution Oy (GE) and ALSTOM Grid Canada Inc. as After Sales & Service and Power Electronics Senior Specialist.

Shareholding: –

Extended Management Team

Risto Laakso, born 1967
Master of Science
Director, QEHS and Sustainability

Risto Laakso is a founding partner of the company and has been its Quality and Environment Director since 2009.

From 2001 to 2009, Laakso worked as a project manager at Nokia Capacitors Oy. In addition, Laakso served as Project Manager at ENMAC Oy from 1994 to 2001.

Shareholding: 329 360

Jonna Kannosto, born 1979
Doctor of Science (Technology)
Director of Marketing and Communications

Jonna Kannosto has been the company’s Marketing Director since 2020 and Communications Director since 05/2021.

From 2017 to 2020, Kannosto served as Marketing Director of Tamturbo Plc and member of the Management Team from 2017 to 2020.

From 2015 to 2017, Kannosto held sales and marketing positions at Dekati Oy.

Shareholding: 200